Discover the World of NSW Wine

About the NSW Wine Awards

Pier One NSW Wine AwardsThe New South Wales Wine Awards were created in 1996 to build awareness of the quality of wines produced in NSW.

Since inception the Awards have become an indicator of the growth and diversity of our State’s industry, and recognised the potential of new regions within New South Wales.

Unlike traditional wine shows, the judges of the New South Wales Wine Awards taste wines of similar style regardless of the size of the producer, allowing large and small wineries to compete against each other.

Entries are judged by three panels headed by Chief Judge PJ Charteris. Each panel is chaired by a leading figure of Australian wine.

The awards are divided into 16 categories: Best Young Chardonnay, Semillon, Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc, Other single varietals, White Blends, Best Young Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon, Pinot Noir, Other single red varietals, and Red blends as well as the Mature Dry Red and Dry White trophies, Sparkling and Sweet wines. The New South Wales Wine of the Year is chosen from one of these categories.  There is also an award for the Best Organic Wine of Show.

2016 NSW Wine Awards

Final results for the 2016 Pier One Sydney Harbour NSW Wine Awards.

Read the Media Release announcing the Pier One Sydney Harbour 2016 NSW Wine of the Year and other Trophy Winners: Click Here.


Subscribe for updates from NSW Wine

NSW Wine Social

Contact Us

NSW Wine Industry Association
PO Box 1638
Griffith NSW 2680

Fax: +61 2 6964 3526

Email: Click here.